Green Roof Cabin

When less than 5 of us are together, we always include the missing Dudek in our conversation, our social media connections, and our hearts.  Our recent trip to the GREEN ROOF CABIN near Raystown Lake at Raystown Country Cabins was one of those experiences.  We made sure Casey, who was not in attendance, was honored and remembered by

  • having an Snapchat Blitz Session.  Chris and Jenny were even snapchatting each other while sitting right next to one another, I think that is a Casey and Jenny pasttime too.
  • lamenting that our photos would not be the same without her,  and certainly the quantity of pictures is about 1/100 of normal quantity:) 
  • watching Duke play into the Elite 8 at the beginning of the weekend and then lose to Louisville for the Final Four at the end of the weekend.  Go Duke!
  • hanging out on Google+ with Casey on our last day.  She had to watch all 4 of us try to stay within the camera view:)

We also spent time

DSC09160

  • visiting the outside of Raystown Lake Visitors Center which is hosted by the US Army Corps of Engineers and Huntingdon County Visitors Bureau.  I say outside because it is not open on weekends or holidays — does anyone else find that funny?

DSC09155

  • parking and walking by the Marina and Boat launch.  It was beautiful and there was still some ice on the lake.  When a few boats launched they disturbed the ice and it crackled and made the most amazingly beautiful sound.

DSC09162

  • noticing silt socks all along the lake edge where some walkways were added.  Dad said it was over $50,000 of protection and there was no silt that was against them.  Hmmmmm, money well spent?
  • listening to lots and lots of frogs, spring peepers maybe, during our walk on the Riverwalk trail along the Juaniata River.  We also saw a hooded merganser and a couple of chain saw statues along the river.
  • dining at Kelly’s Corner in Huntingdon.  Dad and I wanted to share a dinner so I suggested he get the Salad Wedge while I ate from the salad bar.  I got my salad then sat down. THEN I SAW the wedge salad with blue cheese, dressing, candied walnuts….my mouth started watering.  I thought Dad probably wouldn’t like all that blue cheese so I offered to eat it,  when he said he was ok,  I asked for a bite. Well,  I didn’t give that salad back. He had to eat the salad I made at the salad bar. Dang.
  • making Swiss Meringue to top off the butterscotch pie we made earlier in the day, courtesy of Paula Deen’s Recipe.  That Swiss Meringue is tenacious, once it touches any surface it stays.  It even migrates without anyone looking.  It was everywhere. And it was oh so sweet,  just skip the butterscotch pie part (well Chris preferred butterscotch but Jen and I preferred Meringue).

DSC09180

Looking forward to the next time the 5 of us are together,  the Pontiac Lake Cottage perhaps?

 

 

This entry was posted in Connecting, Family, Joy, Nature by Linda D. Bookmark the permalink.

About Linda D

The kids are grown. I am creating and living the life I love. I do miss our family dinnertime conversations, especially Honest Wednesdays, or Reality Sundays, somethin' like that, always a laugh or a cry or look into each individuals perspective and life experiences. To me, that is what FAMILY is about, sharing the joy of being connected to each other! So even when the kids live away from home, one is 630 miles away, I strive to keep connected, with love!

2 thoughts on “Green Roof Cabin

  1. Well, this was an awesome weekend, so thank you for taking the time to camp out near Raystown Lake. We were blessed with beautiful weather on Saturday – the sun was shining like a champion. I also hope I didn’t influence any bad eating behavior because I certainly indulged in more food and sweets than any human ever should. Speaking of sweets, the container that is probably 50% butterscotch and 50% meringue somehow found its way into my fridge. I still haven’t touched that clingy meringue – yikes!

  2. Oh man, sounds like theres some stories around the meringue. Can’t wait till Chris and I come home…are all five(six) of us going to be able to go to cottage twice this year?

    Beautiful pics, mom. Maybe 1/100th of the pics, but 110% of the quality:)
    Love you guys

Leave a Reply

