Weird Water Kettle

I was talking to Anh today during breakfast, and for some reason she started talking about her water kettle/water boiler at home.

She went, “I don’t like our new kettle. Its weird.”

I was a little confused. How weird could a boiler be? You put it over heat and water boils. And so I asked, “What do you mean?”

And then Anh started to go on about the whistle. Still a little confused, I asked her if her old kettle whistled. She said no.

No?! What?!

Instead of telling her that she must be confused in what a good, normal kettle is, I just asked her how she knew when water boiled in her old kettle. She would stand there and wait until the steam came out!

Me (in my head): ????

Anh continued to share that her mother really likes this new kettle because she’s lazy and tends to get distracted, and TWO times her mom had to be reminded by the piercing whistle that she put water on. Anh does not like the whistle. It is startling and loud.

I didn’t say anything (although there was a great opening to make an Asian/Communist dig(and for those of you who don’t know, we–Gwen and me–use that to joking describe every “different” thing about Anh)). Just laughed in my head and thought, hey, the fam might think this is funny too.

2 thoughts on “Weird Water Kettle

Leave a Reply

