Identifying my MOM CONNECTION

I am acutely aware that I want to identify that special somethin’ somethin’  to enjoy with Jen, my youngest.  Mostly this is selfish, I like to be a “special” Mom among my kids and their friends, but isn’t every mom special. Ok, now that I know it’s all about me, I’ll continue.

For Chris, my oldest, who absolutely loves food, especially breakfast and dessert foods, I am known as the breakfast mom.  I’m great with French toast (baked and on the griddle), waffles, pancakes, Swedish Tea Rings, cookies and cakes.  I know this now because some of Jen’s friends dream of coming here for breakfast (because their older sibling did).  And,  our HS Graduation celebrations so far have been brunches.

For, Casey, my middle one, arts and crafts were the gift we shared.  I’m quite accomplished in leading large groups in tie-dying, jewelry making, decoupaging, working with tulip paints.  I think the Purple Oranges Dodge Ball Team had three of four different shirts all created by my daughter, me and the team of 6 girls.  And, the whole HS soccer team also made their shirts with our care and guidance.  And I won’t forget the “Sweet Peas” shirts.

Now for Jen, the youngest, I’m just not sure  what I bring to the party yet.  I’m still thinking about it, trying to be aware of what I already do.  Hey older kids,  I’m open to ideas here, suggestions?   Maybe I just need to make it all about her, rather than all about me:) Hahaha!

This entry was posted in Connecting and tagged , , , , by Linda D. Bookmark the permalink.

About Linda D

The kids are grown. I am creating and living the life I love. I do miss our family dinnertime conversations, especially Honest Wednesdays, or Reality Sundays, somethin' like that, always a laugh or a cry or look into each individuals perspective and life experiences. To me, that is what FAMILY is about, sharing the joy of being connected to each other! So even when the kids live away from home, one is 630 miles away, I strive to keep connected, with love!

2 thoughts on “Identifying my MOM CONNECTION

  1. I never really thought about it that way before, but that is so true!
    And…just putting this out there, the Purple Oranges shirts were for dodgeball;)

Leave a Reply

